Spider-Man: Homecoming Spoiler Thoughts

image

*The following contains spoilers for Spider-Man: Homecoming*

These are my spoiler filled thoughts on Spider-Man: Homecoming. I will be going in-depth with a few aspects of the movie that I wasn’t able to cover in my regular review, and of which I find to be the most important. While in theory you should’ve seen the movie and read my review (click here to read that) before reading this, you’re your own person and you can do whatever you want.

*SPOILERS*

– Let’s get the big one out of the way: the fact that The Vulture (Michael Keaton) was Liz’s (Laura Harrier) father. This through me off when Peter Parker (Tom Holland) knocked on the door and Keaton answered the door. You just feel bad for him because after getting the courage to ask the girl of his dreams out, he gets his hearth smashed. Ultimately he knows he has to stop her dad at all costs. This is what makes Peter such a compelling character. He can’t be a normal person anymore because he has taken the burden to fight crime. This also added another layer to The Vultures story because we see he’s not a bad guy, he’s just trying to provided for his family. How Vulture put together that Peter was Spider-Man also felt believable.

– The scene where Peter is trapped under the debris is my favorite scene in the entire movie. I think that it gets overshadowed by The Vulture reveal a little because it doesn’t knock you on your feet. However, it’s a very emotional and empowering scene for Peter because he has to find his inner/outer strength. Not only is it a direct comic book reference to The Amazing Spider-Man #33, but it also sells the fact that Peter is just a regular kid. He’s crying. He’s calling out for help. Only after some reflection does he realize what it truly means to be Spider-Man. This scene shows that Peter can take the back-breaking weight of the world and overcome any challenge to achieve his goals. In the end, it may be one of my favorite movie moments of the year.

– Near the end of the movie Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) offers Peter what he’s always wanted. To join the Avengers as a permanent member. Tony also offers Peter a new suit that looks like the Iron Spider suit. I’m really glad he didn’t though because I don’t like that suit at all. It’s not just a movie things, I have never been a big fan of it in the comics either. I feel like it takes away everything that makes Spider-Man such a great hero. It takes away is essence. I also have never liked the look of it and this version didn’t improve on it.

– The MJ reveal didn’t effect me as much as I wanted. Going into the movie I thought that Zendaya was going to be Mary Jane, and it looked like she was until her named was revealed to be Michelle. Before the twist happened, I leaned over to my friend and told him I thought one of the post credit scenes was going to be an MJ reveal. Then Michelle said that her friends call her MJ. It’s not that I don’t like the character of Michelle, I actually really liked her. It’s just that of all the references, this one felt a bit too much on the nose.

– I thoroughly enjoyed all the references. Whether it was Betty Brant (Angourie Rice) being a news anchor in Peter’s school, Mac Gargan (The Scorpion) having a minor role, or Donald Glover hinting at Miles Morales. I liked each and every one.

– The mid credit scene shows Vulture in jail. He runs into Gargan and is asked if he knows the identity of Spider-Man. Gargan mentions that he knows a couple of people who would love to meet Spider-Man. I think this may be a set-up for a sinister six movie. It would be awesome if for the next couple of movie Peter fought members of the team and then they got one movie together.

– The post credit scene had Captain America deliver a PSA about patience. This one was funny and I don’t hate it per se, but it would’ve been nice to have another Easter Egg from the Spider-Man universe. Maybe have Gwen Stacy Transfer into Peter’s school.

Those are my full thoughts on the movie. What did you think? Share your spoiler filled thoughts in the comments below.

Written by: William Sherick
Leave a Reply

