Despicable Me 3 Review

image

Despicable Me 3 is the fourth film in the Despicable Me franchise and features the voice talents of Steve Carell, Kristen Wigg, and Trey Parker. After a botched attempt to stop super villain Balthazar Bratt (Parker), Gru (Carell) learns he has a long lost twin brother named Dru (also Carell). Once the two brothers finally meet, Dru tries to convince Gru to return to a life of crime.

I haven’t been invested in this franchise. I have seen the first one and thought it was enjoyable, but I skipped the sequel and the Minions spin-off movie. So I didn’t have high expectations going into this one.

So how does it perform?

Most of the jokes, at least for half of the movie, land. I either chuckled at most of them or straight up laughed out loud. Balthazar is a villain with strong ties to the 80’s so whenever he was on screen there were some great references. The scenes with the two brothers bonding were pretty good. Agnes (Nev Scharrel) is super adorable, and has one of the best stories in the whole movie. The movie started off with a lot of potential, but once the brothers meet each other things fell apart.

The story of Gru and Dru bonding is great, the problem is that the movie doesn’t focus on them enough. The majority of the sub plots serve no purpose to the overall story. In the first one, Gru had a satisfying character ark and the whole film was full of heart. This time around, there’s nothing to latch onto character wise, and the attempts to inject some heart into the film fall flat. While the start of the movie had some laughable moments, the rest of the film is boring with a few chuckles along the way. Not only did the jokes not work for me but the child-filled theatre also fell silent when they happened. If your movie can’t capture the attention of your target audience, then something is wrong. The overall story is forgettable, and it feels like it’s only purpose is to set up another movie in the franchise.

Even though the first half works for what it is, the rest of the movie falls flat. The joke start to become unfunny and it’s hard to care about anything that happens. It’s passable for a kids movie, but I can see them eventually getting bored. If you are a fan of this franchise, you’ll probably find things to enjoy about this installment. For everyone else, there’s not much to enjoy.

What did you think? Are you a fan of this franchise? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Written by: William Sherick
4 thoughts on “Despicable Me 3 Review

  1. I feel like this franchise is dragging out too long because of the internet popularity of the minions. I may end up seeing the installment eventually but your review just told me what I had expected from the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a fan of the franchise so I had hoped this one would live up to the first to. I’ve got tickets for this weekend, and I’m still excited but it’s good to know that I won’t be getting what I’m used to from the franchise. Hopefully It’ll still make me laugh, and will just be a fun watch. I can always buy myself a big bag of popcorn to make sure i’ll definitely leave the cinema satisfied haha. Great review nonetheless.

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

